up / back
Beng Mealea

 

The German Angkor Illustration Project

• G • A • I • P •

Beng Mealea

Bang Melea means "lotus pond". The name of this World Heritage Site aspirant is also transcribed Bung Melea, Beung Mealea or, more often, Beng Mealea. This jungletemple is located 77 km east of Siem Reap by road, and 50 km away from Angkor, as the crow flies.

Pocket guides and internet articles often describe Bang Melea as an insider tip, suggesting it would be not as touristed as the Angkor temples. But this has changed in recent years. Half-day excursions from Siem Reap to Bang Melea are quite popular, many bus groups visit Bang Melea, too. Nevertheless, it is worth a journey. And most visitors will never forget this jungle temple par excellence. Its trees are not as immense as those of Angkor's jungle-temple Ta Prohm, but there are many more trees covering the buildings in Bang Melea: The whole temple is a forest. Trees have grown out of temple towers, tendrils entangle walls and columns, and lichens cover stones. Bang Melea appears even more labyrinthic and mysterious than Ta Prohm since it has never been restored. Many stones lie in great heaps. Visitors have to use a wooden walkway which will lead to many parts of the temple, to its centre in particular.

Bang Melea was built at a strategically significant fork, where the the royal way to Preah Khan Kompong Svay (Prasat Bakan) branches of from the most important Angkorian royal way leading to Koh Ker, Preah Vihear and Dai Viet (in northern Vietnam). Furthermore, Bang Melea was situated at the head of a historical canal to Angkor. Bang Mealea is only 7 km away from the sandstone quarries at Phnom Kulen. This canal was used for the transport of sandstone blocks to Angkor.

Since the foundation date of the temple is not reported in inscription, it has to be dated by stylistic characteristics. Bang Melea is ascribed to the classical Angkor Wat period because of many similarities to the layout of Angkor Wat. This means, Bang Melea was built in the begin or in the middle of the 12th century. The ground plan of Beng Mealea is very similar to that of Angkor Wat. It may have served as a blueprint for the Angkor Wat or was a later copy of it. But there are significant differences between Angkor Wat and Bang Melea, the latter is a flat temple and had only one Prasat tower in the central inner enclosure instead of five.

Bang Melea's temple enclosure is 181 m long and 152 m wide. As in the case of Angkor Wat, the temple proper marked the centre of a whole town. The moat once enclosing the vast area of this temple town is now partly dried up. It measures 1025 m by 875m and is 45m wide. Immediately to the east was a large reservoir.

Altogether three almost concentric galleries (slightly shifted as in the case of Angkor Wat) enclose a central Prasat, which is collapsed now. Another counterpart to features of Angkor Wat are cruciform cloisters. The temple was built mostly of sandstone.

Bang Melea is famous for beautiful carvings. They show legends of Vishnu, Shiva and the Buddha as well. There are episodes from the Ramayana, e.g. the Agnipariksha, Sita's fire ordeal to prove her innocence. There is also a typical relief depicting the Churning of the Milk Ocean. Both subjects are connected to Avatars of Vishnu. Another remarkable pediment shows Agni, the god of fire, riding a rhinoceros.


Ernst Ando Sundermann


• G • A • I • P •

up / back
Beng Mealea

 

The German Angkor Illustration Project

• G • A • I • P •

Beng Mealea

Bang Melea bedeutet "Lotosteich". Der Name dieses Weltkulturerbe-Aspiranten wird auch Bung Melea, Beung Mealea oder, noch häufiger, Beng Mealea transkribiert. Dieser Dschungeltempel befindet sich 77 km Fahrstrecke östlich von Siem Reap und 50 km Luftlinie entfernt von Angkor.

Reiseführer und Internetartikel beschreiben Beng Mealea oft als Insider-Tipp und suggerieren, es sei nicht so touristisch wie die Angkor Tempel. Aber das hat sich in den letzten Jahren geändert. Halbtages-Ausflüge von Siem Reap nach Bang Melea sind recht beliebt, auch viele Busgruppen suchen Bang Melea auf. Trotzdem ist es die Reise wirklich wert. Und die meisten Besucher werden diesen Dschungeltempel par excellence niemals vergessen. Seine Bäume sind nicht so riesig wie die an Angkors Dschungeltempel Ta Prohm, aber es gibt sehr viel mehr Bäume, die an den Bauten von Bang Melea wuchern: Der ganze Tempel ist ein Wald. Bäume wachsen aus Tempeltürmen, Ranken ziehen sich über Wände und Pfeiler, und Flechten bedecken Steine. Bang Melea erscheint noch labyrinthischer und geheimnisvoller als Ta Prohm, weil nie restauriert. Viele Steine liegen nur auf Haufen. Besucher müssen einen hölzernen Steg benutzen, der sie durch den Großteil der Tempelanlage führen wird, insbesondere in ihr Zentrum.

Bang Melea wurde an einer strategisch wichtigen Straßengabelung erbaut, wo der Königsweg nach Preah Khan Kompong Svay (Prasat Bakan) vom wichtigsten angkorianischen Königsweg abzweigt, nämlich dem, der nach Koh Ker, Preah Vihear und weiter nach Dai Viet (im nördlichen Vietnam) führt. Darüber hinaus lag Bang Melea am Kopfende eines historischen Kanals nach Angkor. Bang Melea ist nur 7 km entfernt von den Sandstein-Brüchen am Phnom Kulen. Der Kanal diente dem Transport der Sandsteinblöcke nach Angkor. 

Weil das Gründungsdatum nicht in Inschriften berichtet wird, muss der Tempel anhand stilistischer Merkmale datiert werden. Bang Melea wird der klassischen Angkor-Wat-Periode zugeschrieben, weil es viele Ähnlichkeiten mit dem Angkor Wat gibt. Das bedeutet, Bang Melea wurde zu Beginn oder in der Mitte des 12. Jahrhunderts errichtet. Der Grundriss von Beng Melea entspricht weitgehend dem des Angkor Wat. Er mag als Blaupause fürs Angkor Wat gedient haben oder war eine spätere Kopie. Aber es gibt auch signifikante Unterschiede zwischen Angkor Wat und Bang Melea, das letztere ist ein Flachtempel und hatte nur einen Prasat-Turm im inneren Zentral-Hof, nicht fünf.   

Die Einfriedung, die den Kerntempel Bang Meleas bildet, ist 181 m lang und 152 m breit. Wie im Falle des Angkor Wat markierte dieser Haupttempel den Mittelpunkt einer ganzen Stadt. Der Wassergraben, der das riesige Gebiet dieser Tempelstadt umgibt, ist nun in manchen Abschnitten ausgetrocknet. Er misst 1025 m zu 975 m und ist 45 m breit. Unmittelbar östlich davon lag ein großes Reservoir.  

Insgesamt drei fast konzentrische Galerien (leicht versetzt wie im Falle des Angkor Wat) umfrieden einen zentralen Prasat, der nun aber eingestürzt ist. Ein anderes Gegenstück zu Merkmalen des Angkor Wat sind kreuzförmig unterteilte Innenhöfe. Der Tempel ist hauptsächlich aus Sandstein errichtet.

Bang Melea ist berühmt für seine schönen Reliefs. Sie zeigen Legenden von Vishnu und Schiwa wie auch vom Buddha. Man sieht hier Episoden aus dem Ramayana, z.B. die Agniparksha, Sitas Feuerprobe zum Beweis ihrer Unschuld. Es gibt auch ein typisches Relief, das das Kirnen des Milchozeans darstellt. Beide Themen sind mit Avataren Vishnus verbunden. Ein weiterer bemerkenswerter Giebel zeigt Agni, den Gott des Feuers, auf einem Rhinozeros reitend. 


Ernst Ando Sundermann


• G • A • I • P •