up / back
Ta Som

 

The German Angkor Illustration Project

• G • A • I • P •

Ta Som

The Khmer pronunciation of the "o" in "Ta Som" is a diphtong, consisting of an "a" like in "arch" and an open "o" like in "organ". "Ta Som" sounds a little bit more like "Ta Sowm" than "Ta Sorm", but not at all like "Ta Somm", though every driver or guide will understand you if you pronounce it this way as every other tourist does. Other spellings in use instead of "Ta Som" are "Ta Sohm" or "Ta Saum".

There was a stele in Preah Khan that probably mentions Ta Som, this is how the temple's original Sanskrit name was identified: Gaurashrigajaratna, "Propitious-Holy-Elephant-Jewel". A "shrigaja" is a white elephant, reserved for royalty. The inscription mentions the temple was home of 24 deities.

Ta Som is in the north-eastern corner of the Grand Circuit route, 2 km east of Neak Pean and 2,5 km north of the West Mebon. It was located slightly north to the east-west axis of Preah Khan and the "Preah Khan Baray". Ta Som lies at the foot of the Baray's embankment.

Ta Som is a medium-sized monastic complex, smaller than the similar Bayon-style temples Banteay Kdei, Ta Prohm, and Preah Khan. It is a typical structure of the era of the most prolific temple builder in Angkor's history, Jayavarman VII (1181- ca. 1218)

Ta Som is one of those monuments with face towers, but the colossal faces are of a smaller scale than at Angkor Thom. Ta Som's Buddha faces are on the Gopurams at the two entrances from the west and east. They mark the outer (third) enclosure, measuring 240 m by 200 m. This exterior enclosure may have been a later addition from the reign of Indravarman II in the first half of 13th century.

The eastern face-tower is one of the most often photographed Khmer monuments. For today's visitor starting at the car park it is just at the opposite end of complex. The tower is crowned by a superb example of Angkor's world-famous stone-cracking trees, a quite dramatic sight. The strangler fig still stands upright, but it died in the 1970s, this means it does not grow any more, due to decomposition it will fall down in a not too far away future. So hurry on to see the spectacular tree still upright on the monument.

The second enclosure is surrounded by a moat. Again, both gates, from the east and from the west, are Gopuram towers.

Ta Som's temple proper has laterite galleries surrounding the temple courtyard (inner enclosure), encompassing a cruciform Prasat sanctuary and two libraries built of sandstone. It is much like a miniature version of Ta Prohm, or a copy of its northern and southern side temples. The first (inner) enclosure is 30 m long and 20 m wide.

Many of the carvings are in a sound condition. They are of better quality craftsmanship than at contemporary temples. Bayon-style panels usually appear to be worked out more hastily. The Devata (Apsara) carvings show an uncommon individuality compared to other Bayon-style sculptures. A former pediment now on the ground to the south of the temple proper (inside the second enclosure) has a huge and lovely carving depicting the Bodhisattva Lokeshvara. The northern pediment of the North Gopuram, of similar size, was reconstructed recently by the WMF and the APSARA Authority. The south pediment of the north Gopuram (inside the inner enclosure) shows a smaller Lokeshvara, at his feet four praying figures on lotus buds. In the south-west section of the courtyard you can see more examples of excellent carvings on the ground and a pillar with a peg on the top. The symbolism is unknown. Similar stelae are found at contemporary temples, e.g. two at Preah Khan and one at Banteay Prei.

In 1998, the World Monuments Fund (WMF) began to stabilize the structure to make it safer for visitors.


Ernst Ando Sundermann


• G • A • I • P •

up / back
Ta Som

 

The German Angkor Illustration Project

• G • A • I • P •

Ta Som

Die Khmer-Aussprache des "o" in "Ta Som" ähnelt einem Diphtong aus einem "a" und einem "o". "Ta Som" klingt ein bisschen mehr wie "Ta Saum" als wie "Ta Sorm", aber nicht wie "Ta Somm", obwohl jeder Fahrer oder Führer Sie verstehen wird, wenn Sie es so aussprechen wie fast jeder andere Tourist. Andere gebräuchliche Schreibweisen statt "Ta Som" sind "Ta Sohm" oder "Ta Saum".

Es gab eine Stele in Preah Khan, die Ta Som wahrscheinlich erwähnt, dadurch ist der originale Sanskrit-Name des Tempels bekannt: Gaurashrigajaratna, "Glückverheißender-Heiliger-Elefanten-Edelstein". Ein "shrigaja" ist ein weißer Elefant, der für das Königtum vorbehalten ist. Die Inschrift berichtet, der Tempel sei die Heimstatt von 24 Gottheiten gewesen.

Ta Som befindet sich in der Nordost-Ecke der Rundstraße „Grand Circuit“, 2 km östlich von Neak Pean und 2,5 km nördlich des Ost-Mebon. Der Tempel lag etwas nördlich der Ost-West-Achse von Preah Khan und des "Preah Khan Baray", am Fuße des Damms dieses Reservoirs.

Ta Som ist ein mittelgroßer Kloster-Komplex, kleiner als die ähnlichen Tempel im Bayon-Stil Banteay Kdei, Ta Prohm und Preah Khan. Es ist ein typischer Bau aus dieser Ära des eifrigsten Tempelbauers der Khmergeschichte, Jayavarmans VII. (1181- ca. 1218).

Ta Som ist eines der Monumente mit Gesichter-Türmen, aber die kolossalen Gesichter sind hier von geringeren Dimensionen als in Angkor Thom. Ta Soms Buddha-Gesichter sind an den Gopurams an den zwei Eingängen von Osten und Westen. Sie markieren die äußere (dritte) Einfriedung, die 240 m mal 200 m misst. Diese äußere Umfassungsmauer könnte eine spätere Ergänzung aus der Regierungszeit Indravarmans II. in der ersten Hälfte des 13. Jahrhunderts sein. 

Der östliche Gesichter-Turm ist eines der meistfotografierten Khmer-Monumente. Für den heutigen Besucher, der vom Parkplatz startet, liegt er an der Rückseite des Komplexes. Der Turm ist bekrönt von einem hervorragenden Beispiel von Angkors Steine-brechenden Bäumen, ein recht dramatischer Anblick. Die Würgefeige steht nicht aufrecht, aber sie starb bereits in den 1970er Jahren ab, das bedeutet, dass sie nicht weiter wächst und dass sie wegen der einsetzenden Vermoderung in nicht all zu ferner Zukunft umstürzen wird. Also beeilen Sie sich, um den spektakulären Baum noch aufrecht auf dem Monument zu sehen.

Die zweite Einfriedung ist umgeben von einem Wassergraben. Wiederum sind an beiden Toren, von Osten und Westen, Gopuram-Türme die Tor-Durchgänge.

Ta Soms Kerntempel hat Laterit-Gallerien, die um den Tempelhof herum laufen (innere Einfriedung), dort befinden sich ein kreuzförmiges Prasat-Heiligtum und zwei Bibliotheken, errichtet aus Sandstein. Es wirkt wie eine Miniatur-Version von Ta Prohm oder eine Kopie von dessen nördlichen und südlichen Seitentempeln. Die erste (innere) Einfriedung ist 30 m lang und 20 m breit.

Viele Reliefs sind in einem guten Zustand. Sie sind von einer besseren Handwerkskunst als die als an anderen zeitgenössischen Tempeln. Paneele im Bayon-Stil sind sonst hastiger gearbeitet als die von Ta Som. Die Bildnisse von Devatas (Apsaras) zeigen eine ungewöhnliche Individualität im Vergleich zu anderen Skulpturen im Bayon-Stil. Ein ehemaliger Giebel, der nun am Boden südlich vor dem Kerntempel aufgestellt ist, trägt ein großes und schönes Relief des Bodhisattvas Lokeshvara. Der nördliche Giebel des Nord-Gopurams, von ähnlicher Größe, wurde in jüngerer Vergangenheit vom WMF und der APSARA Behörde rekonstruiert. Der südliche Giebel des Nord-Gopurams (innerhalb des inneren Hofs) zeigt einen kleineren Lokeshvara, zu seinen Füßen vier betende Figuren auf einer Lotusblüte. Im südwestlichen Teil des Hofs können Sie weitere Beispiele von exzellenten Reliefs am Boden sehen sowie einen Pfeiler mit einem Zapfen auf der Spitze. Die Symbolik ist nicht bekannt. Ähnlich Stelen wurden in zeitgenössischen Tempeln gefunden, z.B. zwei in Prah Khan und eine an Banteay Prei.

Ernst Ando Sundermann


• G • A • I • P •